Japan claim Asian Boys' U19 Championship title


Japan celebrate their Asian Boys' U19 Volleyball Championship title

Nay Pyi Taw, Myanmar, April 5, 2017 - An undefeated Japan captured victory at the SMM 11th Asian Boys’ U19 Volleyball Championship at the Wunna Theikdi Indoor Stadium after an exceptional straight-set 3-0 (25-17, 25-18, 25-19) victory over Korea in the thrilling final showdown on Wednesday.

The top four teams in the 11th Asian Boys’ U19 Championship have secured places for the FIVB Volleyball Boys’ U19 Championship in Bahrain in August. They are Japan, Korea, China and Iran.

Quick links - Volleyball:
FIVB Volleyball Boys' U19 World Championship - Volleyball
Latest Videos
Media Guides
Kento Miyaura scored a team-high 19 points for Japan in the final match including 17 kills from 31 attempts and Hirohito Kashimura added 4 kill blocks, while Lim Sungjin led Korea with 10 points including 8 attack hits. Im Donghyeok added 8 kills.

Wednesday’s win in Myanmar gave Japan a clean sweep of
the Asian Girls’ U18 and Boys’ U19 Championships after Japan won
the Asian Girls’ U18 Championship title in Chongqing, China last month.

China claimed bronze in the Boys' U19 Championship after overpowering defending champions Iran with a magnificent come-from-behind 3-1 (22-25, 25-22, 25-21, 25-19) victory in the third-place playoff.

Zhang Jingyin scored a match-high 22 points for China including 19 kills from 32 attempts. Tian Cong contributed 13 attack hits and 4 stuff blocks. Morteza Sharifi led Iran with 20 points, all of them from devastating spikes, while Ali Tabari contributed 17 kills.

Final ranking
1. Japan
2. Korea
3. China
4. Iran
5. Chinese Taipei
6. Thailand
7. Australia
8. Myanmar
9. Sri Lanka
10. Bangladesh
11. Hong Kong

: The top four teams - Japan, Korea, China and Iran - qualify for the 2017 FIVB Volleyball Boys’ U19 World Championship in Bahrain from August 18 to 27.

Individual awards

Best Outside Spikers
1.    No.12 Iran - Morteza Sharifi
2.    No.9 Japan - Mahiro Sake

Best Middle Blockers

1.    No.7 China - Wang Dongchen
2.    No.11 Japan - Shunichiro Sato

Best Opposite Spiker

No.1 Korea - Im Donghyeok

Best Setter

No.3 Korea - Choi Ikje

Best Libero

No.16 Korea - Park Kyeongmin

Most Valuable Player

No.1 Japan - Kento Miyaura


All the News